Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems

Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems

Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems
Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems

Buddha the founder of Buddhism is also known by various names such as Siddhartha, Gautama, Shakyamuni. He was actually named Siddhartha Gautama by his parents and he derived the name Gautama Buddha when he got enlightenment. Buddha was born in Lumbini, Shakya Republic (the present day Nepal) to a king called Suddhodana. Teachings of Buddha are practiced worldwide and can be practically applied to any life situations.

Though he was born into a royal family and was poured with all the luxuries, he experienced a lack of happiness. Buddha was just 16 years when his father arranged for a marriage with a girl of the same age named Yasodhara. He was given everything that royal family desires for, but he wasn’t happy. At the age of 29, he left the family for his quest to understand the life and its phases – Birth, Old age, Disease, Death, and Rebirth. Take a look at some of the teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern day problems.


Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems

1. Gautam Buddha on Anger:

Anger is the greatest hurdle to spiritual enlightenment. Buddha said ” Conquer anger by non-anger. Conquer evil by good. Conquer miserliness by liberality. Conquer a liar by truthfulness.” – (Dhammapada, v. 233). According to Buddhism, Anger is one of the three poisons. The other two include – greed and ignorance. Buddha emphasizes the need for getting rid of anger to experience spiritual enlightenment.  It’s even worth remembering the story of Buddha on how he calmed the rampaging elephant in this context.

Some of his quotes on Anger:

” You will not be punished for your anger. You will be punished by your anger.”

” Holding on to anger is like drinking poison and expecting other person to die.”


2. Teachings of Buddha on Happiness:

Buddha suggests that happiness starts with the identification of suffering. He said happiness can be achieved by understanding the root cause of suffering. Indulging in future, thinking about results and the presence of ego in individual acts as a hurdle to happiness. Staying calm and focusing on the present moment is the ultimate remedy for experiencing happiness. But, how can one cultivate the habit of focusing on the present? Meditation is the Solution. Meditation is the best method that helps you focus on the present moment and it helps you get rid of the false ego. Take a look at some of his quotes on happiness.

Some of his quotes on Happiness:

Happiness is a choice not a result. Nothing can make you happy unless you choose to be happy.”

” A disciplined mind brings happiness.”

” Don’t dwell in the past, don’t dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.”


3. On Compassion:

Gautama also emphasized on the need to show compassion for all the living beings. One can only lead a fulfilling life by showing compassion to all the living beings. Showing sympathy and pity for the sufferings and troubles of other living beings is a great way to show compassion. Ponder upon some of the quotes of Buddha on Compassion.

“One is not called noble who harms living beings. By not harming living beings one is called Noble” 

“In whom there is no sympathy for living beings – Consider him as an outcast.” 


4. Buddha on Four Noble Truths:

Buddha believed that Life is a suffering because of the existence of ignorance and false knowledge and hence he teaches his followers about the four noble truths. Identifying and acknowledging these truths can help one in finding solutions to any kind of problem. The four noble truths are

  • Life is a suffering. (Referred to as Dukkha)
  • Suffering comes from Desire
  • And Suffering can be eliminated
  • Suffering can be eliminated only through the Eightfold Path.


5. Gautam Buddha on Eight Fold Path:

Eight Fold Path also is known as AshtangaMarga, Aaryoastangamarga describes eight paths of living. According to Buddha, Nirvana can only be attained by following the Eight Fold Path.

The Eightfold Path consists of eight practices:

  • Right View
  • Right Thought
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness and
  • Right Samadhi

The Eightfold path can be categorized into three parts. Part – I: Right View and Thought are associated with Wisdom. Part – II: Right Speech, Action, and Livelihood are associated with Conduct and Behaviour of an Individual and Part – III: Right Effort, Mindfulness, and Samadhi are associated with Mental Cultivation.


6. The Five precepts according to Buddha:

The five percepts according to Buddha are severely practiced and are considered to be the most important moral rules among the Buddhism practitioners. The Five Precepts are:

I undertake to abstain

  • from slaughtering or taking away the life of any living being.
  • taking or stealing away something that doesn’t belong to me.
  • from misconduct comprising of sensual pleasure.
  • false speech (lying)
  • from the consumption of intoxicating drinks

For more wisdom related posts click Sagacious Saturday

If you found this article to be sagacious, please SHARE the post because everyone deserves to learn. Happy Saturday.

6 thoughts on “Teachings of Buddha that you can apply to modern-day problems

  • October 8, 2018 at 12:53 pm

    thank you so much. that’s surely an inspiration for us

  • November 28, 2018 at 8:16 am

    thank you so much for taking time to review the post.

  • May 31, 2019 at 7:36 am

    Teachings of Buddha are Right View, Thought, Speech, Action, Livelihood, Effort, Mindfulness and Concentration. Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path of Gautam Buddha .

    • June 2, 2019 at 10:46 am

      Absolutely right. Have a nice day.

  • Pingback:Life lessons from the tale of golden droppings. - Addicted2Learn.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *